Advertising banner:

 Jamie Pettit
Home • BWDSB_Newsroom • BWDSB_WebNews • Jamie Pettit
From: Wednesday, November 21, 2018 11:01 AM -0500
Subject:A Note of Thanks to our Retiring Trustees
With the new term set to begin for the 2018 – 2022 Board of Trustees, we take a few moments to thank and recognize our retiring trustees for their years of hard work and dedication to the students, staff, and families of Bluewater District School Board.  Through their leadership, thoughtful decision-making, and commitment to our local public education system, these trustees have helped to build a lasting legacy that will ensure Bluewater’s continued success and capacity in meeting the needs of every individual who enters one of our schools or facilities to learn or work.  Their support and advocacy has spanned many areas, including equitable access to learning for all students, special education, student and staff well-being, health and safety, championing the student voice, building community partnerships, promoting Indigenous education, encouraging parent engagement, and effectively managing the stewardship of publicly funded resources, among other important issues.  

We thank the following retiring trustees for their years of service and wish them the very best in all of their future pursuits:

Image of Trustee Marg GavillerMarg Gaviller
City of Owen Sound

Marg has been a trustee for the past 18 years, which has included assuming the Chair and Vice-Chair roles at various points of her tenure.  She has also been actively involved in several committees, especially the Policy Standing Committee.  One of her recent key areas of focus has been to ensure that progress continues on the education related recommendations in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s Calls to Action.

Image of Trustee David MasonDavid Mason
Town of Saugeen Shores
Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

A former teacher in Bluewater, David has dedicated the past four years to serving in a trustee capacity.  Among his areas of focus, David has been a longtime supporter of special education, and more recently, has advocated for innovation and creativity in the classroom to prepare students for the changes that will impact education in the future.   

Image of Chair Ron MotzRon Motz
Municipality of West Grey
Town of Hanover

While Ron has served as Chair for the past four years, his involvement in local public education dates back to 1994.  Ron also was a trustee with the former Grey County Board of Education, a previous chair in Bluewater (early 2000s), and even assumed a staff position for a while as Bluewater’s Health and Safety Officer.  After becoming a trustee again this past term, he advocated for the responsible stewardship of resources in support of reinvesting in student programs and a more sustainable path forward for Bluewater.    

Image of Trustee Cheree UrschelerCheree Urscheler
First Nations

Cheree has been involved with Bluewater as a trustee for the past two years.  Her thoughtful perspectives and input on issues related to Indigenous education have helped to inform decision-making as Bluewater continues to move forward in the spirit of reconciliation.  This includes ensuring increased learning and awareness opportunities in our schools regarding the culture and history of our Indigenous citizens.

Image of Trustee Dan WongDan Wong
Municipality of Brockton
Municipality of South Bruce

Dan has served as a trustee for the past eight years.  He joined Bluewater to take on this role after having spent a lot of time and effort as an active parent, which included School Community Council Chair and twice chairing the Accommodation Review Committee for the Walkerton area.  In his role as a trustee, he has chaired the Business Committee and been an advocate for student mental health.