Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings

May 15, 2007


The annual CONCOURS D’ART ORATOIRE DU CONSEIL SCOLAIRE RÉGIONAL DE BLUEWATER was held on Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 at Kinghurst Community School conducted jointly by local Canadian Parents for French chapters and Bluewater District School Board.  

In the Grades 4-6 category for Core French, Madison Pearson from Beaver Valley Community School, Thornbury, won for her speech titled “Pourquoi  le français est important à moi”, and Emily Beckenhauer from Kinghurst Community School in Chesley was second.  The French Immersion, Grades 4-6, winning speech  was given by Avery Vreugdenhil-Beauclerc from Sydenham Community School in Owen Sound.  His topic was “L’ordre de naissance”.  Lauren Moore from Macphail Memorial Elementary School in Flesherton was second and Tianna White from Hanover Heights Community School in Hanover placed third.

In the Grades 7 and 8, for Core French, Carleen Best from Strathcona Senior Public School in Owen Sound finished first with her speech “Mon voyage fantastique”.  Clorissa Cunningham from Strathcona Senior Public School was second and Sarah Mitchell also of Strathcona Senior Public School was third.  In the Grades 7 and 8 French Immersion category, first place went to Connor Vreugdenhil-Beauclerc from Hillcrest Elementary School in Owen Sound with her speech “la pollution causée par les auto”.  Wade Walker from Macphail Memorial Elementary School was second and Jasmine Baumann from Port Elgin-Saugeen Central School and Kathryn Kerker also of Port Elgin-Saugeen Central School both placed third.

Thirty students from eleven schools in Bluewater District School Board participated in this annual event. Students who placed first in their divisions will go on to the provincial Concours d’art oratoire which is sponsored by Canadian Parents for French and hosted by Glendon College at York University in Toronto on Saturday, May 12, 2007.

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board