Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings
Excellence in Education

June 17, 2008

UNESCO Schools

On June 2nd, 2008 history was made on the Bruce Peninsula.  St. Edmunds School in Tobermory and Bruce Peninsula District School in Lion’s Head, became the first schools in Ontario to receive the ASPnet (Associate School Project network) UNESCO designation.

This designation came as a result of years of effort by students, school staff, parents and community members who have worked together to reach a common goal.  

Carol Raney and Laurie Adams were two of the early people from the Biosphere association who first brought forward the idea.  The School Community Council led by Jane Thomson, Patricia Greig and Ruth Hellyer have worked tirelessly on behalf of the school.  Past principal Pat Cavan played a key role in moving the projects along and keeping the initiatives on track.  Sean Liipere, present chair of the Biosphere Association, has been an important community partner.  Elizabeth Burrow, BPDS teacher and Louise Johnstone, St. Edmunds teacher have been constant advocates during the long journey.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) focuses on four pillars:
  • World concerns
  • Human rights
  • Intercultural learning
  • Environmental concerns
These pillars are the foundation for creating relevance and cross curricular learning opportunities in the two schools.  Each school proudly displays murals depicting the four pillars which have permeated all aspects of the life of the school.

The celebration on June 2nd included events throughout the day at both schools and an evening celebration at BPDS.  Students played a key role in each event and demonstrated the level of engagement they feel as a member of the UNESCO family.

In the near future a field trip request will be coming before the board to approve participation in the model U.N. being held in New York in December.


Submitted to:
Bluewater District School Board
June 17, 2008
For further information please contact
Mary Anne Alton, Director of Education or
Matthew Pickett, Principal, Bruce Peninsula District

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board