Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings

February 17, 2009


The Board’s Special Education Advisory Committee met on Janary 26, 2009 at the Administration Center, Chesley

Trudy Baran, Chair
Bill Rich
Phil Dodd
Karen Nunn, Vice-Chair
Annemarie Payette (R)
Sandy Ribey
Corinne Wolsey (R)
Andy Swan (R)
Marilyn McComb (R)
Jennifer Yenssen (R)
Autumn Hachey (R)
Alexandra Nickels (R)
Lori Wilder
Janice Greenwood
Carolynn Dyer
Darlene Thomson
Valencia Roote Anaquot
Deedra Johnson
Glenda Hayes
Spina Bifida & Hydrocephalus Assoc.
Keystone Child, Youth and Family Services
Grey-Bruce Community Care Access Centre
The Environmental Hypersensitivity Association of Ontario
Ontario Brain Injury Assoc.
Bluewater Council of Home & School Assoc.
Community Living Kincardine & District
Student Senator
Student Senator
Superintendent of Student Services
Principal of Student Services
Vice-Principal of Student Services
Executive Assistant (Recorder)

Area Resource Teacher – Autism/PDD/Aspergers
Alex Baran

Dennis Boyle (R)
Sheila Dowler (R)

Annemarie Payette (R)

The following items were presented:

Staffing changes - Melissa McEwen is vice-principal of student services; Carolynn Dyer was promoted to principal at Dundalk-Proton; Christy Love has returned from leave and Suzanne Kennedy is Area Resource Teacher for the North West area.
The PD Day committee has organized 103 workshops for April 24th.  All workshops will fall under the “Learning for All” principle with a special education focus.  Workshops will be held in 5 locations.  The sites are Peninsula Shores, Kincardine District, John Diefenbaker, Grey Highlands and OSCVI.    SEAC is invited to attend.
“No Child Without” program has had a significant increase in registrations.
Discussion took place regarding EQAO results for special needs students.
The alternative curriculum for those students not accessing the Ontario Curriculum, Barrie Region pilot project was discussed.
SEAC was presented with Bill 29, “An Act to amend the Occupational Health and Safety Act to protect workers from harassment and violence in the workplace”.  A response paper authored by OASBO and OPSBA will be endorsed via a letter from SEAC.
Agenda Items:
Melissa McEwen & Glenda Hayes presented a power point presentation on “Positive Behaviour Approach Training” which occurred last year over 4 days.  Trained in the approach were learning resource teachers, teachers of developmental learners, behaviour resource teachers, section 23 teachers and SALEP teacher.  Invitations for training were extended to the Bruce Grey Catholic Board and First Nations. New staff in these positions will be trained in this approach this spring.  All previously trained staff will be given a refresher based on their needs.  Classroom teachers will have an opportunity to train at the April PD day.  A team will continue to look at who may require training i.e. educational assistants.


Submitted o:
Bluewater District School Board
February 17, 2009               

For further information please contact
Lori Wilder, Superintendent of Student Services
Marilyn McComb, Trustee
Jennifer Yenssen, Trustee


© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board