Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings

June 16, 2009

Phase IV Schools on the Move 2009 - 2010 Initiative
Beavercrest Community School

Beavercrest Community School has been invited by The Literacy and Numeracy Secretariat, Ministry of Education, to be part of the Phase IV Schools on the Move 2009 – 2010 initiative.  The central theme of this initiative is schools learning and working together to develop partnerships and networks.

The Schools on the Move initiative was first launched in 2006 to identify schools that were making progress; schools, where improvement in student learning has been impressive.  Beavercrest, along with 34 other elementary schools has been selected for Phase IV.  They join St. Vincent-Euphrasia and Port Elgin-Saugeen Central School that were designated previously.

On June 8th, 2009, Alana Murray,  Bluewater District School Board Superintendent of Schools; Leigh Morris, Principal of Beavercrest Community School; Chris Smits, Math Contact Teacher and Teresa Routenburg-Brown, Literacy Contact Teacher from Beavercrest Community School, attended a Regional Learning Conversation in Barrie where the initiative was outlined and additional supports were provided.

Congratulations are extended to Leigh Morris and teachers of Beavercrest Community School on their selection as part of the Phase IV Schools on the Move.  The principal and staff have focused on Special Education (Education for All) and creating professional learning communities.  Leigh states that “building partnerships within the community and establishing parental trust with an administrative open door are crucial.”  The Beavercrest staff truly believes that “it takes a community to raise a child”.

On behalf of the Literacy and Numeracy Secretariat, I would like to take this opportunity to present a plaque of recognition honouring Beavercrest’s selection and participation in this initiative to Leigh, Chris and Teresa.

Submitted to:
Bluewater District School Board
16 June 2009
For more information please contact
Leigh Morris, Principal of Beavercrest Community School or
Alana Murray, Superintendent of Secondary Education

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board