Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings
Board Meeting Highlights

January 20, 1998

Jennifer Yenssen, Chair, welcomed visitors to the Board meeting and stated that because of examinations and other activities in the schools, Student Trustees were unable to attend the meeting.

•     The "Amazing Brain Project" - is an injury prevention initiative of the Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound Health Unit in collaboration with community partners. The resource is a learning tool for use at the grade 3-4 level. It teaches students the function of the brain, the results of brain injury and injury prevention. Recognized for their involvement were: Cathy Coburn of the Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound Health Unit who has coordinated the three-year project, and Ralph Peart, Vice-Principal, Strathcona Senior Public School, Owen Sound, who coordinates the use of the program through his role as Chair of the Curriculum Safety Committee in Grey County. Jennifer Yenssen thanked Cathy and Ralph for their efforts on behalf of this project and presented letters of commendation to them.

Approval Board Name
Paul Martindale explained that the delay in approval of the Bluewater District School Board name is because the Education Improvement Commission is reviewing a ruling on the use of the word "public" in Board names.

Appointment to OPSBA Board of Directors
The Board approved the following appointments to the OPSBA Board of Directors: Judy Galoska as Director and Ruth Hirtenfeld as Alternate.

Approval of Agreement
An agreement with Grey County Bus Operators for the two school years 1996-97 and 1997-98 was approved.

Personnel Report
Personnel Report #2 was approved by the Board. The Report included information on additional staff, transfers, resignations, retirements and other staff changes.

Development of a New Strategic Plan
Warren Hoshizaki outlined the Strategic Planning process. The Board approved the development of a new Strategic Plan to focus the system on high learning expectations for the organization, shared values, student outcomes and a preferred future. Trustees Cindy Aitken and Carolyn Day volunteered to act as members of the steering committee.

The Road Ahead--II:  A Report on the The Role of School Boards and Trustees
Janet Glasspool presented highlights from the report describing the changing role for trustees. With respect to the section of the report on developing a three-year plan for trustee professional growth, trustees agreed to develop an outline of topics for a seminar after the OPSBA Symposium at the end of January.

Update on Board Logo
Mary Anne Alton reported on a meeting to discuss the logo design developed by Grey Highlands S.S. student, Tom Beirnes. Jim Blake of Precision Studios and designer of the "Pride of Grey Bruce" symbol, noted that the symbol could be used in addition to the Board logo. An additional month is required by the artist and student to further develop the logo and the Committee will report at the February 17th Board meeting.

Update - Trustee Vacancy
Janet Glasspool reported that an advertisement appeared in The Sun Times (Fri & Sat., Jan. 16 and 17) and all weeklies in the district.

Report - OSCVI
Doug Cumming presented an update on the project following a meeting of the Planning Committee held on January 13th. There are to be two trustee representatives on the OSCVI Planning Committee. One will be the trustee appointed to represent Owen Sound. The Board appointed Marilyn McComb as the second trustee.

Joint Occupational Health and Safety
The Board received Report Number 17, Joint Occupational Health and Safety, including the minutes of the Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee.

Trustee Honoraria
The Board approved the following Trustee Honoraria:
1.      Honorarium for trustees will be set at $5,000 per year.
2.      Honorarium for Chair - $7,500 per year ($5,000 plus 50% of trustee Honorarium)
3.      Honorarium for Vice-Chair - $6,250 per year ($5,000 plus 25% of trustee Honorarium)

1.      Nine Thank You Notes were received from 1997 Bruce County Ontario Scholars.

Tuesday, February 03, 1998, Education Centre, Chesley - 1:30 p.m.

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board