Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings
Board Meeting Highlights

September 22, 1998

Jennifer Yenssen, Chair, welcomed visitors, student trustees and the Audio-Visual Technicians from the Education Centre.

Student Trustees Janet Glasspool administered the Declaration to student trustees who attended their first Board meeting.

The following outstanding examples of excellence were presented:
•     Celebration of Educational Achievements - Summer 1998 - John Everingham, Walkerton District Secondary School; Angie Klages-Tower, Dundalk-Proton Community School and Helen MacIntyre, Amabel-Sauble Community School represented a large number of staff members in our system who took summer courses or were engaged in provincial assessment activities. The teachers spoke about their recent educational experiences.
•     Ron Motz congratulated Heather Weber, a student at John Diefenbaker Secondary School, who was one of four students selected from 3000 students to travel to various sites in Canada, Japan and Korea to represent the Youth of Canada. Heather will travel October 1 to October 14 and will participate in commemorative ceremonies to mark the 45th Anniversary of the Cease-Fire in Korea.

Banking Proposal - The Board passed a motion to accept the proposal for banking services from the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce for a period of three years with two one year renewal options.
Ratification of Secondary Teachers’ Agreement - The Board ratified the Collective Agreement with Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation, District 7, effective September 1, 1998 to August 31, 2000.

Policy Committee
The Board Policy related to Field Trips and Exchanges was approved.

A report from the OSCVI Transition Committee was presented. School Safe Arrival Procedures Bill Pike, Principal, Huron Heights Public School and Cindy Harris Gardhouse, Principal, Sydenham Community School, reviewed with trustees school safe arrival procedures used in their schools. Trustees viewed a video on the Cardboard Boat Race held in Hanover on June 4, 1998. The race involved secondary school students in a design technology project.

Special Education Advisory Committee
The Board appointed Leah Bateman as a member and John Holmes as an alternate member of the Special Education Advisory Committee for the term of the current Board. They will represent the Ontario Brain Injury Association.

•     Ontario School Boards’ Insurance Exchange Election - The Board appointed the Superintendent of Business as a voting delegate for O.S.B.I.E.
•     O.S.B.I.E. Candidate - The Board nominated Marion Gibson as a candidate for a position on the Board of Directors of O.S.B.I.E.
•     Trust Funds Report - The Board received a staff report presenting the status of trust funds.
•     Tutors in the Classroom - The Board supported participation in the “Tutors in the Classroom Program” for the 1998-99 school year. The program involves a partnership with Georgian College.

•     Millennium Bureau of Canada - The Board received a letter acknowledging their project application for funding/endorsement under the Canada Millennium Partnership Program for The Institute for Outdoor Education and Environmental Studies.
•     Education Improvement Commission - The Board received further notification regarding Public Meetings on the Future of School Councils. A local meeting will be held on September 28, 1998 from 7 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. at the Bayshore Community Centre, Shore Room in Owen Sound.
•     Royal Bank , Ripley - The Board received an invitation to the Royal Bank Financial Group “Thank you Day” which was held on September 18. A donation of $500.00 each was made to Lucknow Central Public School for playground enhancements; Ripley-Huron Community School, Sr. Campus, for physical education equipment and Ripley-Huron Community School, Jr. Campus, for their music program.
Upcoming Board Meeting

Tuesday, October 6, 1998, Education Centre, Chesley.

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board