Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Board Meetings
Board Meeting Highlights

June 15, 1999

Jennifer Yenssen, Chair, welcomed guests, media and the video crew from Walkerton District Secondary School to the Board meeting.

•     Trackfest - Over 500 Bluewater students participated in the 2nd Annual Trackfest in Kincardine on June 12, 1999.
•     Military Co-op - The final parade for the military co-op students was held on Saturday, June 12 in Owen Sound.
•     Awards of Excellence Program - Awards were given to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to education within each of the families of schools in Bluewater.  The following individuals were the winners of the 1999 Award of Excellence:
Sandra Goss, School Council
Gerry Knight, Northport Elementary School
Pat Reid-Taylor, Bayview Public School
Jill Crawford, Chesley Public School
Barb Grubb, Ripley-Huron Community School
Debbie Schenk, Human Resources Development Canada
Jan Moore, School Council
•     Student Trustees - The Board thanked Student Trustees for their participation as Board members during the 1998-99 school year. Jennifer Yenssen and Janet Glasspool presented student trustees with a lapel pin of excellence and a letter of recognition.
•     Canada-Wide Science Fair - The following Canada-wide Science Fair award winners were recognized for their outstanding projects: Ashley Leifso, Walkerton Public School, Honourable Mention Chloe Davidson and Erinn Ipsen, Wiarton Public School, Honourable Mention Andrew and Adrienne Mason, Saugeen District Secondary School, Bronze Medal and National Resource Canada Award of $500.00.

Reports from the Committee of the Whole in Closed Session
•     The Board approved several outstanding articles of the collective agreement between the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation, District 7 and Bluewater District School Board for the period September 1, 1998 to August 31, 2000.
•     The Board ratified the Collective Agreement with the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario, Bluewater Occasional Teachers for the period September 1, 1998 to August 31, 2000.
•     A transfer of bus routes currently operated by Gregg Bus Lines to Ross. E. Young Bus Lines Limited was approved.

Business Committee Report
•     The Board will continue to support the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association.
•     The Board approved the 1999-2000 budget in the amount of $149,608,240.
•     The Board supported the continuation of the Military Co-op in Bluewater secondary schools with appropriate support from school and Board administration

Field Trips
Two field trips were approved:
•     A trip to Great Britain for members of the John Diefenbaker Secondary School Music Program from June 23, 2000 July 3, 2000.
•     A trip to Barbados for members of the Saugeen District Secondary School Senior Boys Basketball team from March 10, 2000 March 18, 2000.

Tuesday, July 06, 1999, Education Centre, Chesley.

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board