Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Get The Facts
Board Meeting Highlights

February 15, 2000

•     Jolly Songs - Laurie James, Sullivan Community School
Laurie James of Sullivan Community School in Desboro was recognized for developing Jolly Songs. Laurie spent countless hours writing songs, arranging music and developing activities related to all 42 sounds introduced in the Jolly Phonics program.
•     Erik Lott, Chesley District High School
Erik Lott, student at Chesley District High School, was recognized for his efforts in assisting a Burlington man to rescue two young boys from the river in Tara.
•     Sleeping Children Around the World
Helen MacIntyre, teacher at Amabel-Sauble Community School, was recognized for organizing a campaign for Sleeping Children Around the World.

Reports From Committee-of-the-Whole In Closed Session
The sale of the Lion’s Head Public School property was approved. The proceeds from the sale of the school will be directed to a reserve fund for pupil accommodation capital needs.
Policy Committee Report
The following policies were approved:

Business Committee Report
The cost of financing to provide for an employee computer purchase incentive plan will be included in budget planning for 2000-2001.

Field Trip
The Board approved a field trip for students at Wiarton District High School to travel to New York City from April 13 - 16, 2000.

Support for Improving Student Achievement Through Staff Development
The Board approved an early dismissal Pilot Project for April 5 and May 3 of 2000 in both elementary and secondary schools to provide more time for teacher in-service. This professional development will support student achievement and assist teachers to implement the new Ontario curriculum. The Board also supported a plan for early dismissal, beginning in October 2000 for both elementary and secondary schools, if the pilot project is successful in meeting the needs of the teachers. Discussion with Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board must take place before plans are finalized.

Buffet-Taylor Student Scholarship
Jennifer Yenssen, past Chair of the Board, was the recipient of a $1,000 Buffet-Taylor Scholarship presented at the 1999 Annual Meeting of OPSBA. This scholarship will be awarded to Anna Sandink from Georgian Bay Secondary School.

Student Accommodation Policy 3101-D Implementation Report
The Board approved the phase-in of the review process identified in the Student Accommodation Policy. The following seven schools were identified for immediate review:
Eastnor Central School
St. Edmunds Public School
Bruce Peninsula District School
Wiarton District High School
Ripley-Huron Community School (Sr.)
Highpoint Community School
Macphail Memorial Elementary School.

Tuesday, March 21, 2000, Education Centre, Chesley

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board