Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Get The Facts
Board Meeting Highlights

December 19, 2000

•     A plaque was presented to John Lennon, recognizing his leadership related to the development of the Bluewater Technology Centre.
•     A grade 11 and 12 choral group from Owen Sound Collegiate & Vocational Institute, led by David Tupper, performed three musical selections for the Board.

Oath of Office
The following trustees took their Declaration and Oath of Allegiance:
Carolyn Day – Town of Saugeen Shores, Municipality of Arran-Elderslie
Judy Galoska – Town of South Bruce Peninsula, Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula
Marg Gaviller – City of Owen Sound
John Lennon – Municipality of Brockton, Municipality of South Bruce
Marilyn McComb – Township of Georgian Bluffs, Township of Chatsworth
Janice McKean – Municipality of Kincardine, Township of Huron-Kinloss
Ron Motz – Township of West Grey, Town of Hanover
Margaret Reidl – Township of Southgate, Municipality of Grey Highlands
Jean Sullivan – Georgian Highlands, The Blue Mountains

Election of Chair
Ron Motz was acclaimed as Chair of the Board.
Election of Vice-Chair
Judy Galoska was acclaimed as Vice-Chair of the Board.

Committees of the Whole Board
Chair Ron Motz made the following appointments:
Chair of Business Committee – Jean Sullivan
Chair of Educational Issues Committee – John Lennon
Chair of Policy Committee – Carolyn Day
Chair of Closed Session – Judy Galoska

•     Buffet-Taylor Student Scholarship
Rohit Mohindra, graduate of Kincardine District Secondary School, is the recipient of The Buffet-Taylor Student Scholarship. Rohit’s parents accepted the award on his behalf.
•     Laidlaw Education Services Scholarship
The Laidlaw Education Services Scholarship was presented to Renota Dyer from West Hill Secondary School.
•     Balanced Literacy Program
The Board received a report on the Balanced Literacy Program including the Literacy Plan for 2000-2001 and Board results of the primary division assessment.
•     School Administrators' Selection Process
Michelle Forge provided an overview of the process for selection of school administrators.  Principals involved in the presentation were: Clive Card, Sue Loyst, Gerry Moss and Bob Stevenson.

Administrative Staffing Report
The following appointments effective January 1, 2001 were announced:
Leigh Morris – Principal, Derby Public School
Brenda Bergen – Acting Vice-Principal, Strathcona Senior Public School
Oscar Burnside – Vice-Principal, Osprey Central School
Peter Hughes – Vice-Principal, Georgian Bay Secondary School

•     National Children’s Benefit Reinvestment Program – The Board received notification that the “WRAP” project has been approved for funding in the amount of $114,965.00 for the year 2001.
•     School Council Regional Forum – The Board received information regarding a School Council Regional Forum being held on Saturday, January 13, 2001.

Tuesday, January 23, 2001, Education Centre, Chesley

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board