Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Get The Facts
Board Meeting Highlights

October 16, 2001

Inclusive Educator of the Year Award
Carole Clarke, Grade One Teacher and Joan A. White, Teacher of the Deaf at Port Elgin-Saugeen Central School, were recognized as winners of the Inclusive Educator of the Year Award. A peer nomination process identifies classroom educators who demonstrate, implement, develop or use effective inclusion strategies or planning skills.

Carole and Joan described how they effectively adapted programs for a hearing involved student in the grade one class and how the classroom adaptations have had a positive impact on many students in the class.

The Chair, Vice-Chair and Director presented them with a Bluewater Lapel Pin of Excellence.

Shibley Righton Student Scholarship
John Laverty announced that Timothy Deyarmond, a 2001 graduate of John Diefenbaker Secondary School, was the winner of a $500 Student Scholarship for Post Secondary Education sponsored by Shibley Righton. He outlined the criteria required to be eligible for the award.

Timothy is presently attending college out of the district and was unable to be present. His parents accepted the cheque on his behalf and thanked the Board. They expessed their appreciation to the staff of John Diefenbaker Secondary School for the support given to Timothy.

Judy Galoska, Chair, stated that three motions were being brought forward into open board.

1.      Increase of secondary average class size, in aggregate.  A two-part motion, the first part to meet compliance with Regulation 276/01, increased secondary average class size, in aggregate, to 22 and, the second part, allocated $40,000 to support costs associated with out-of-district participation in regional and provincial activities and competitions.

2.      Committee to Conduct Board Hearing and Appeals to the Board – Expulsions
The Board appointed the Chair of the Board and two trustees (to be named), in addition to the Director of Education or designate and the appropriate supervisory officer to the Committee to Conduct Board Hearings and Appeals to the Board – Expulsions. Trustees named to the committee are:
Jan Johnstone and John Lennon.

3.      Appeal of County of Bruce Official Plan Amendment #2 as adopted by by-law #3885 of the County of Bruce
The Board approved appealing County of Bruce Official Plan Amendment #2 as adopted by by-law #3885 of the County of Bruce which has to do with a proposed quarry development near the Institute for Outdoor Education and Environmental Studies.  They also instructed the System Administrative Team to proceed with a solicitor to be identified to prepare and file Notice of Appeal and to prepare and present the case before the Ontario Municipal Board.

Policy Committee
Carolyn Day stated that the Committee dealt with planning of an inservice meeting on the Safe Schools Policy from the Ministryy of Education.  The meeting was open to trustees and new administrators who were unable to attend the previous meetings.
The Committee also reviewed a protocol document for information sharing between the Board and police.

Educational Issues Committee
The Committee had a demonstration from vice-principal, Bill Colley, on a template he has developed on crisis response for schools.
Reports were given on Early School Dismissal (4 days), the Grade 10 Literacy test and September 28th Professional Development Day.

Business Committee
The Business Committee discussed teacher re-certification and the implications of cost. The Board has been approved as a course provider.

A letter from the Ministry of Education was read regarding the Transportation Pilot project. If the Ministry does not approve the
plan the Board will have a shortfall in its budget.

A motion regarding Budget 2001-2002 was tabled to the next meeting of the Business Committee.

The Board received a report on the September 28th Professional Development Day Activities.

Framework for the Provision of Extra-Curricular/Co-instructional Board Activities to Secondary School Students Report
John Laverty reported that under the Stability and Excellence in Education Act Legislation (Section 171) boards are required to
develop and implement a plan for the delivery of co-instructional activities to secondary school students. A committee comprised of himself, five secondary school principals, two teachers, Pres. of OSSTF, Dist. 7, a student trustee, a student president, President, Bluewater Athletic Association and a School Community Council representative developed the framework.

The Board approved the framework and that support for the Framework for the provision of Extra-Curricular/Co-instructional
Activities to Secondary School Students be considered during the 2002-2003 budget planning process.

Director of Education
Ron Motz
Judy Galoska
David Armstrong

Tuesday, November 20, 2001, Education Centre, Chesley

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board