Your browser does not support JavaScript!
an image
This is an image for the page banner
This is an image for the page header
Student Success
Conference for Students
With the Ministry of Education indroduction of Specialist High Skills Major programs in Ontario, and the employer request for more specific skill certifications, our school boards formed a partnership with the Saugeen Economic Development Corporation, Four County Labour Market Planning Board, Passport to Prosperity and the Owen Sound Family YMCA Community and Employment services to look at ways to offer certification training at a minimal cost to the student.

The First Time Full Time Conference professional development for students was launched May 24, 2006 with certifications being offered in Customer Service, Chainsaw Safety, Forklift Operator, Smart Serve, WHMIS, Traffic Control, Heart Saver, Fall Protection, High Five and Food Handling. Job Search workshops were also offered to assist in finding job opportunities, interview skills, resumes and employer expectations. clip_image002.jpg

Today, the FTFT conference has expanded to deliver certification training at Georgian College, Owen Sound Campus over a two day period with the focus on safety training in various employment sectors. Certifications offered were Ag Growers Pesticide, Ag Medicine, Behaviour Management, Customer Service, Fall Arrest, First Aid/CPR, Food Handling, High Five, Fork Truck Safety, Service Excellence, Smart Serve and Who's Got Your Back.

Conference sponsorship has been provided by Bruce Power, community partners and committee members. Without their support, we could not host such a popular event. First Time Full Time has been so successful the conference is now being duplicated by other school boards with the assistance of their local partners and Business Development Corporations.

For further information and workshop descriptions, please visit or contact:

Dave Barrett, OYAP Coordinator/Facilitator, First Time Full Time 2017 Chairperson (519) 363-2014, ext. 2132

© 2013 - Bluewater District School Board