Bluewater District School Board

Bluewater's Team Bluewater Prepares for 2022 Virtual CWSF page

Team Bluewater Prepares for 2022 Virtual CWSF

Team Bluewater Prepares for 2022 Virtual CWSF
Posted on 05/09/2022
Science badge graphic imageTwo Bluewater District School Board students are part of a team of six from Grey and Bruce counties preparing for an opportunity of a lifetime as they participate in the 2022 Virtual Canada Wide Science Fair (CWSF).

Islay Graham from Owen Sound District Secondary School (OSDSS) and Saugeen District Senior School's (SDSS') Vedant Sheel will join their peers at the virtual fair from May 16 to 20.  Team Bluewater alumni Laurissa Christie and Sophia Cottrill will also be part of the CWSF Ambassador Team.  Over 350 students from across Canada will compete for almost $1 million worth of awards and scholarships, including trips to international competitions and the coveted title of being Canada’s Top Young Scientist.  To learn more about CWSF 2022, visit

Team Bluewater has been working tirelessly to prepare for the upcoming competition.  The following members of the team were selected at the Senior Bluewater Regional Science and Technology Fair (BRSTF), which took place in April:

  • Islay Graham from OSDSS for her project, “The National Helmet Expiry Inquiry”
  • Vedant Sheel from SDSS for his project, “Smart Solar Tracker”
  • Olivier Lafleur from École catholique St-Dominique-Savio for his project, « Les plantes, des ordinateurs quantiques? »
  • Amalia Stolzfus Forand from École catholique St-Dominique-Savio for her project, « Pêche et amande : Deux dans un! »
  • Anna Elyse Siekerzycki from St. Mary’s High School for her project, “Corticosteriod Injections/Hyaluronic Acid and Their Use in Performance Horses”; and
  • Abby Vereecke from St. Mary’s High School for her project, “Food Waste: What Can We Do Better?”
At the senior fair, special recognition was given to Best of Fair winner Islay Graham.  A full list of the medalists and award winners can be found by visiting

The Senior BRSTF would not be possible without the assistance of many volunteer judges and sponsors.  The committee thanks all the CWSF Team sponsors and encourages any organizations interested in sponsoring an award to visit the BRSTF website referenced above.

Islay Graham, OSDSSVedant Sheel, SDSS

Source: BRSTF media release
Bluewater District School Board is located on the traditional land of the Saugeen Ojibway Nation, which is represented by the communities of Saugeen First Nation and Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.