Bluewater District School Board

Bluewater's Provincial, National, and International Awards page

Provincial, National, and International Awards

Provincial, National, and International Awards
Posted on 06/17/2021

For Immediate Release

June 17, 2021

Bluewater District School Board Provincial, National, and International Award Recognition

Chesley, ON – At the Regular Meeting of the Board held on June 15, 2021, Bluewater District School Board recognized students and staff who were provincial, national, and international award recipients during the 2019-20 and 2020-21 school years. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic, which limited many activities, students and staff from our local public education system showcased excellence in a broad range of categories, including athletics, science, mathematics, teaching, and scholarships, among others.

“We are extremely proud of the outstanding accomplishments of our students and staff at the provincial, national, and international levels, and we extend our deepest congratulations,” says Bluewater District School Board Chair Jane Thomson. “These examples are a small representation of the many amazing achievements that continue to occur in our schools, which are especially impressive during these times. Thanks are also owed to those who have inspired, encouraged, and supported this wonderful success.”

2019-20 School Year

Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA) Cross Country Running Women Novice 4K
(Silver).....Brooklyn Quanz, Saugeen District Senior School

OFSAA Nordic Skiing Senior Girls Cross Country Skiing
(Bronze).....Janna Wardell, Owen Sound District Secondary School

Ontario Community Newspaper Association (OCNA)
Ontario Junior Citizen of the Year Award.....Islay Graham, Hepworth Central Public School

Ontario Physical and Health Education Association (OPHEA) Healthy Schools Certification
Gold.....Beavercrest Community School
Certified.....Dawnview Public School

2020-21 School Year

Canada-Wide Science Fair – Virtual (Ottawa, ON)
Junior Division
Bronze.....Caleb Dawson, Arran-Tara Elementary School

Intermediate Division
Bronze and Shad Canada Scholarship Award.....Islay Graham, Owen Sound District Secondary School

Caribou Mathematics Contest / Caribou Cup
Grade 3/4 Level
1st Place.....Nived Menon, Alexandra Community School

Prime Minister’s Awards for Teaching Excellence
Ontario Certificate of Achievement.....Tyler Boyle, Teacher, Macphail Memorial Elementary School

Ontario National Archery in School Program (NASP) Championship, Virtual Tournament
Virtual Girl’s Middle School Division
1st Place.....Taylor Donaldson, Hillcrest Elementary School
3rd Place.....Alissa Negus, Hillcrest Elementary School

Virtual Team – Elementary School Division
2nd Place.....Hillcrest Elementary School

Virtual Team – Middle School Division
1st Place.....Hillcrest Elementary School

Royal Canadian Legion Remembrance Day Video Competition: Grade 4-8
3rd Place.....Zuhayr Abbas, Zander Alpaugh, Shrey Desai, Mya Downey, and Emma Redmond, Northport Elementary School

It has also been announced that Avryl Bender of John Diefenbaker Senior School was recently selected from among over 6,000 applicants to receive the McCall MacBain provincial award from the Loran Scholars Foundation.

For media inquiries, please contact:
Jamie Pettit, Communications Officer
Bluewater District School Board
519-363-2014, ext. 2014
Bluewater District School Board is located on the traditional land of the Saugeen Ojibway Nation, which is represented by the communities of Saugeen First Nation and Chippewas of Nawash Unceded First Nation.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.